Alone

No matter how well
I sometimes get along,
I must come to realize
that irrefutable truth
plain before my eyes
that for this world
I am just made not.

And whatever wellness
I may sometimes feel inside,
I know that from the outside
I am that weird and clueless stranger
the odd fish climbing up a tree
oblivious to the “real” world
caring for childish nonsense.

But however weird I may be seen
I am sure that in no way
do I want to resemble them
so clever in gamesmanship
experts in elbowing and backstabbing
spending their time chasing lowly morsels
and bowing for bureaucracy and evil powers.

No, I am changing this world not,
but they will never shortchange me either!
There is just nothing left to be done
I will pretend to fit from today on
until my heavy duties are over
and will then lock my door
placing myself under a joyous Sun
in the vast and silent spaces
of my inner garden.

Marcus Antoninus

Not the best poetry. Not the most inspired words. Just tired, feeling restless and overwhelmed. I needed to write it so.

Author: Marcus

Philosopher, poet and lover of life.

7 thoughts on “Alone”

    1. Thank you so much, Sarah, for your kind words. I was having a bad day, and may be the oversensitive poet inside took the liberty of not asking his fellow the philosopher his opinion about the matter. Feeling better now 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Dear Marcus, I come from the land of poetry. I seldom read English poems because unfortunately English is not my first language. However, I found I enjoy yours. Many thanks.
    Maria

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

