Choosing my fight

I am not worried when an insane despot is voted to presidency
but I am rather unsettled by the mentality of those who gave him the votes

I am not worried that egoistic Machiavellian types so often get to the top
but I am rather enraged by the culture that engenders and encourages them to do so

I am not worried to pay with my money a few indifferent soulless civil servants
but I rather feel sorry for them for choosing such an empty existence

I am not worried to see so many uncaring people that are blind to injustice
but I am rather dismayed when those who say they care cowardly choose to do nothing

I am not worried about the Earth because I know that life will exist after this humanity
but I am rather already nostalgic for those unborn who will never see Nature in full

I am not worried that I might someday be ridiculed and victimized
because I chose to abide by my values, and live a life full of reason, compassion and joy.

And I am determined to continue doing so.

Marcus Antoninus

Author: Marcus

Philosopher, poet and lover of life.

One thought on “Choosing my fight”

Leave a Reply

