From the innermost shores

20140616_marcus-antoninus_innermost-shores

Deep introspection
brought me long ago
to these poorly known
deep innermost shores.

Keen on the harvest of the spirit
but weary of ritual and dogma,
I was neither leader nor follower
and so these lands alone I entered.

In becoming faithful to myself,
self-reliant and authentic,
I stayed close to the essential and simple
and away from extremes and excess.

Along rough paths I progressed,
felt terror alongside crags,
suffered thirst on dry hot plains
and in pestilent mires delayed.

I settled at last in a simple hut,
plucked weeds and cleaned around,
planting with great care some good seeds
brought from the ancient West and East.

Under a gentle Sun steadily I worked,
in earnest this inner garden tended,
taking at last of myself possession
and becoming one with Nature.

In arriving back to these shores,
I finally feel a calm strength,
hard-won and deeply felt,
crucial to set course and sail,

out in the unknown again.

Marcus Antoninus

Author: Marcus

Philosopher, poet and lover of life.

6 thoughts on “From the innermost shores”

Leave a Reply

